Rahal Letterman Lanigan has a long history of hiring stellar drivers to man our race cars.  Starting with our orig­inal driver and founder Bobby Rahal, whose legendary career set the bar high, the team has enjoyed having a long string of successful race car drivers. Some of our former drivers include famous names such as Bryan Herta, Max Papis, Kenny Brack, Jimmy Vasser, Michel Jour­dain Jr., Danica Patrick, Buddy Rice, and Ryan Hunter-Reay.  Today, the tradi­tion continues, as our current staff of world class drivers continues to show week after week that their skills behind the wheel are one of the main ingre­di­ents of our successful team.  Browse our driver bios and you’ll see that the the tradi­tion continues of having world class, top notch talent in the driver seat.

IndyCar Drivers


Graham Rahal

Graham Rahal grew up attending race events around the world with his father, 1986 Indi­anapolis 500 winner and three-time Indy car cham­pion Bobby Rahal, and cut his teeth in karting and moved up through feeder series to Indy car racing. In 2008, a victory at St. Peters­burg — in his IndyCar Series debut — made him the youngest winner in a major auto race at 19, 93 days old. He also co-drove the winning car in the 2011 Rolex 24 at Daytona sports car race.

BMW Team RLL Drivers


Augusto Farfus

Last year, Augusto Farfus competed in Daytona in Turner Motorsport’s BMW Z4 GTD. Now, in the BMW Z4 GTLM, the BMW works driver will support BMW Team RLL in the endurance clas­sics this season. He will drive along­side Bill Auberlen, Dirk Werner and Bruno Spen­gler in Daytona. Thanks to entering the endurance races at the Nürbur­gring and Spa-Francorchamps, Farfus already has a lot of expe­ri­ence driving the BMW Z4 GT3. In the DTM, 2015 sees Farfus compete in his fourth season for BMW Motor­sport. In the touring car series in 2013, his three victo­ries saw him take second place in the drivers’ standings.


Bill Auberlen

The combi­na­tion of BMW and Bill Auberlen is a recipe for success. Regard­less of which model the Amer­ican takes out onto the track: the driver and car work in perfect harmony. The expe­ri­enced Auberlen is a true all-rounder. As well as being bril­liant in the latest BMW models, such as the BMW M3 GT or the BMW Z4 GT3, he can also look back on expe­ri­ence with historic cars like the BMW V12 LMR, McLaren BMW and the BMW M3 GTR.


Bruno Spengler

Bruno Spen­gler has been one of the best DTM drivers for ten years now. Between 2006 and 2013 he consis­tently finished in one of the top five spots in the drivers’ stand­ings. In 2012 he crowned BMW Motorsport’s return to this series by winning the drivers’ title. Now he is taking on a new chal­lenge, and will make his debut in the 24 Hours of Daytona, in the BMW Z4 GTLM. Spen­gler is Cana­dian and spends quite a bit of time in his home country each year. However, the last time that he competed in a race in North America was back in the 2002 season. That was when he won the title in the North Amer­ican Formula Renault. In May 2015, along­side BMW Motor­sport, Spen­gler will contest his 11th DTM season.


Dirk Werner

BMW Team Schu­bert and BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS will once again be able to call on the squad of BMW works drivers for rein­force­ment in 2014. Spear­heading this season’s BMW Motor­sport endurance programme is Dirk Werner.


Jens Klingmann

The coming season sees Jens Kling­mann make his debut in North America. The BMW works driver will support BMW Team RLL in selected endurance races, such as the 24 Hours of Daytona and the 12 Hours of Sebring. Kling­mann knows the GT3 version of the BMW Z4 like the back of his hand.


John Edwards

John began racing karts in 2003 winning the Great Lakes Sprint Series Jr Briggs Restricted Cham­pi­onship. That same year he became the youngest ever licensed driver in U.S. open-wheel road racing. Competing in the Skip Barber Formula Dodge Race Series on January 17, 2004, John became the youngest winner in open wheel road racing history, at just 12 years of age. Later in 2004, John won the Red Bull Driver Search, an effort to find the next Amer­ican F1 World Champion.


Lucas Luhr

Along­side BMW Motor­sport, the 2015 season sees Lucas Luhr return to where he has cele­brated some of the biggest successes of his career to date – North America. He will compete along­side John Edwards in the number 24 BMW Z4 GTLM. Between 2002 and 2012, Luhr won a total of five driver titles in the Amer­ican Le Mans Series, from which the United SportsCar Cham­pi­onship orig­i­nated. He first made his mark on the GT class; then the old hand also went on to win in the LMP2 and LMP1 prototypes.