blu eCigs Joins RLL’s IndyCar Program as Primary Sponsor at Baltimore and Houston Grand Prix Events

BROWNSBURG, Ind. (August 26, 2013) – Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) announced today that blu eCigs, the elec­tronic ciga­rette brand widely known for supe­rior style and quality, is expanding their part­ner­ship and will be the primary sponsor of the No.15 Indy car driven by Graham Rahal at the upcoming Balti­more Grand Prix on September 1, 2013 and the double­header races at the Grand Prix of Houston held on October 5 – 6, 2013. blu eCigs has taken a promi­nent role in open-wheel racing across the Indy car team as asso­ciate sponsor of the No. 15 Indy car driven by Graham Rahal for the full 2013 season.

We are excited to expand our engage­ment and take the lead as primary sponsor of the Grand Prix races in Balti­more and Houston, two high-profile races that are sure to be thrilling,” said Matt Coapman, VP of Marketing at blu eCigs. “We were happy to see the posi­tive response from our recent involve­ments earlier this season and look forward to continue engaging the fans and crew with inno­v­a­tive marketing and promo­tional oppor­tu­ni­ties to make this a memo­rable motor­sports season.”

Since its incep­tion in 2009, blu eCigs has consis­tently led the charge to intro­duce e-cigarettes as a new class of smoking alter­na­tive to the US market and has done so in a prag­matic way — always keeping the customer expe­ri­ence as the central focus. In April 2012, blu eCigs was acquired by Loril­lard, Inc., solid­i­fying blu eCigs as a market trail­blazer and further advancing the tremen­dous growth oppor­tu­nity repre­sented by the e-cigarette cate­gory. Today, North Carolina-based blu eCigs continues to set the stan­dard in product inno­va­tion and respon­sible marketing.

The response from the Indy car industry with blu eCigs’ involve­ment this season has been tremen­dous and we look forward to having the brand on board as primary sponsor at Balti­more and Houston for Graham’s car,” added Bobby Rahal, co-owner of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing with CBS LATE SHOW host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan. “It’s great to have a brand like blu eCigs back in racing. We appre­ciate the value and excite­ment of their involve­ment with our team and we look forward to continue growing the program.”

About blu eCigs Elec­tronic Ciga­rettes
blu eCigs® elec­tronic ciga­rettes offer the feel of tradi­tional ciga­rettes – without the tobacco smoke, ash, or smell. Because they mimic the phys­ical act of smoking, blu eCigs offer a real­istic alter­na­tive to tobacco ciga­rettes, creating a vapor “puff” that evap­o­rates within seconds. blu eCigs made a conscious choice to offer a product that clearly is not mistaken for a tradi­tional ciga­rette, evident by the e-cigarette’s black casing and blue LED glowing tip when in use. With a lifestyle-driven design and inno­v­a­tive tech­nology to enhance the expe­ri­ence for consumers, blu e-cigarettes allow smokers the chance to take back their freedom. blu e-cigarettes have been featured at high-profile awards shows, profes­sional motor­sports events, major music festi­vals, and more, and are used by A-list actors, musi­cians, and other celebri­ties around the world. Avail­able online and at retailers nation­wide, blu e-cigarettes come in conve­nient dispos­ables or recharge­able packs for regular use, with or without nico­tine, and in a variety of flavors. Based in Char­lotte, NC, the company is a subsidiary of Loril­lard, Inc. (NYSE: LO). For more, infor­ma­tion visit

About Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, based in Hilliard, Ohio and Browns­burg, Ind., is co-owned by three-time IndyCar Cham­pion and 1986 Indi­anapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, CBS LATE SHOW host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan. The team is in the midst of their 22nd year of compe­ti­tion and is attempting to add to their 30 wins (20 – IndyCar, 10-ALMS) – including the 2004 Indy 500 from pole with Buddy Rice — their 42 poles (29 – IndyCar, 13 – ALMS) and three series cham­pi­onship (1992 – IndyCar, 2010 and 2011 – ALMS).

- RLL -