Rahal Won Heat Race 2 But Damage in Heat 3 Limited His Start to 9th in Iowa; Jakes Was Fourth When Contact Ended His Race in 9th and Will Start 21st

Iowa Corn Indy 250 – Iowa Speedway
IZOD IndyCar Series


POLE:   Helio Castroneves        (Won Heat Race 3)
9th:       Graham Rahal               (Won Heat Race 2; finished 9th in Heat Race 3)
21st:     James Jakes                 (8th in Heat Race 2 after contact while 4th)

GRAHAM RAHAL, No. 15 Midas / Big O Tires Dallara/Honda/Firestone:  “The first heat race was great. I thought we had a good car this morning. The Midas / Big O Tires guys did a great job and we charged from seventh and got up there and won the race. We really, really felt the car was very competitive and were able to charge through the field which not a lot of the guys were seemingly able to do. And again in the second heat race, I think we could have won it.  I think we had the car but unfortunately Ed (Carpenter) and I bumped and we lost four percent front COP (center of pressure; from front wing damage) so the car didn’t want to turn.  The fact that we could still run high 18’s (18-second lap time) without a front wing is pretty impressive so I’m pleased with the car. I think it’s going to be pretty good.”

  • FAST FACTS: Will be his sixth race here. He set the 19th fastest lap time in single-car qualifying today to determine that he would be in Heat Race 2. He drove to victory in Heat Race 2 after starting seventh and progressed to Heat Race 3 where he also started seventh. Contact with Ed Carpenter on Lap 16 of 50 damaged his front wing and he held on to finish ninth of 10 cars to match his best start at Iowa of ninth and also earned his best start of 2013 to date… He has earned three top-10 finishes in five starts here with his best being ninth (2012, 2010). In 2012 he qualified 10th, started 20th (penalty for unapproved engine change) and finished 9th with Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing (SCCGR). In 2011 he qualified 20th and finished 15th with SCCGR. In 2010 he qualified 17th with Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, led 11 laps and finished 9th. In 2009 he qualified 9th and finished 11th with Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing (NHLR) and in 2008 he qualified 16th and finished 10th with NHLR… His best finish this season is second place in Long Beach and best start is 9th in Iowa (tomorrow)… Is ranked 17th in series standings with 151 points.

JAMES JAKES, No. 16 Acorn Stairlifts Dallara/Honda/Firestone:  “We just made a mistake in Turn 2. We struggled on our own and then the balance came to us. I could see those three cars coming up pretty quickly. I was a bit optimistic. I don’t think there is too much damage so the guys won’t have to stay too late. It’s disappointing.’

  • FAST FACTS: Will be third event here.  He set the 13th fastest lap time in single-car qualifying to determine that he would be in Heat Race 2. He was in fourth place when he made contact in Turn 2 and finished 8th to earn a 21st place start in the race Sunday… He qualified 21st in 2012 and started 18th after others served engine penalties and finished 13th after he led one lap. In 2011, he qualified 24th but retired in 25th after contact – both years with Dale Coyne Racing… Three races ago in Detroit was a breakthrough event for Jakes as he earned his highest career start and finish in Dual 2 in Detroit of second place… It is his third season in the IndyCar Series and first with RLL. In 31 Indy car starts with Dale Coyne Racing from 2011-2012, his best finish was eighth at Toronto and series-best start of eighth was at Motegi… His best start to date this season is 2nd at Detroit Dual 2 and best finish is also 2nd in Detroit’s Dual 2 … Is ranked 15th in series standings with 160 points.

RLL RACING AT IOWA SPEEDWAY: The Iowa Corn Indy 250 will mark the fourth event for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) at Iowa Speedway.  The best finish for the team is third in 2007 by Scott Sharp who also earned the top start for the team of fourth the same year.  Prior to the 2013 event, the team prepared a total of four entries for drivers Scott Sharp (2007), Jeff Simmons (2007), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2008) and Takuma Sato (2012). The team has earned ONE podium (3rd, Sharp 2007) and two, top-10 finishes at the track.  LAST YEAR AT IOWA: Sato qualified 23rd and finished 12th.  The No. 15 Midas / Big O Tires entry for Graham Rahal and the No. 16 Acorn Stairlifts entry for James Jakes will bring that total to six in 2013.

NEXT UP: The 250-lap Iowa Corn Indy 250 will take the Green Flag at 2:05 p.m. CT tomorrow. ABC will begin their live broadcast of the race at 2:30 p.m. ET. It will also be broadcast by the IMS Radio Network on Sirius XM (XM 94 and Sirius 212). Timing and Scoring information is available for all sessions from www.indycar.com.

PHOTO AND VIDEO AVAILABLE: Media members who register on the IndyCar Series media site have access to photography as well as video.  Register for access to photos at: http://www.indycarmedia.com/pages/ApplyforAccess