Bobby Rahal Included in 2013 SCCA Hall of Fame Class With Fellow Legends Barber, Noble, Shelby and Porterfield

TOPEKA, Kan. (January 8, 2013) – Road Racing legends Skip Barber, Bill Noble, Bobby Rahal, Carroll Shelby, and Andy Porter­field compose the 2013 SCCA Hall of Fame Class for signif­i­cant contri­bu­tions to motor­sports and the Sports Car Club of America, as announced today by the SCCA. The newly-selected class will take their posi­tions amongst the giants of the Club during an induc­tion cere­mony at the SCCA National Conven­tion on Saturday, March 2, 2013 in Las Vegas.

The SCCA National Hall of Fame was created in 2004 to preserve, protect and record the history and accom­plish­ments of the Club by acknowl­edging those members who have made a signif­i­cant impact on the devel­op­ment of SCCA, be it through service to the national orga­ni­za­tion, achieve­ments in national compe­ti­tion, bringing national recog­ni­tion to SCCA, or a combi­na­tion of these factors. Nomi­na­tions were submitted to and reviewed by the Hall of Fame Nomi­na­tion and Selec­tion Commit­tees before the inductees were selected.

John “Skip” Barber has seen thou­sands of SCCA Racers pass through the driving school that he started and bears his name to this day. His career and contri­bu­tions to the SCCA go well beyond his role as an instructor. Mr. Barber won the Formula Ford (now Formula F) National Cham­pi­onship in back-to-back years at the Runoffs, winning in 1969 and 1970. The 1970 title was paired with another cham­pi­onship in Formula B – a class that became Formula Atlantic – to earn him that season’s President’s Cup. Barber reached the pinnacle as a driver with a handful of races in Formula One, and remains Pres­i­dent and Owner of Lime Rock Park to this day. Barber has been an SCCA member for 54 years.

William James “Bill” Noble became one of the most successful Championship-winning drivers in SCCA history and had a hand in many more. A renowned engine builder and five-time National Cham­pion in one of Club Racing’s most compet­i­tive class, his “Engines by Noble” have captured an incred­ible 25 National Cham­pi­onships in the 49-year history of the Runoffs. Noble was awarded the Road Racing Driver’s Club Mark Donohue Award in 1989, and the Kansas Region presents the Bill Noble Award to the driver who best exem­pli­fies the combi­na­tion of mechan­ical exper­tise, driving skill, and compet­i­tive sports­man­ship that were Noble’s traits. To display that sports­man­ship, Noble had a long-standing offer to engine customers: anytime a customer wanted to trade their engine for the one in Noble’s car, he would not only take them up on it, but help them install the engine. Noble passed away in 2011 at the age of 69. His busi­ness and racing legacy are continued by his widow, SCCA Chairman Lisa Noble.

Andrew Tracy “Andy” Poter­field is inducted for his years of contri­bu­tions to the Club, both as a driver and behind the scenes. Porter­field, known as a Corvette racer, won the 1978 and 1979 National Cham­pi­onships in B Produc­tion, and was Southern Pacific Divi­sion Cham­pion an unprece­dented 23 times. A regular racer in SCCA Trans-Am races, Porter­field served on the Cal Club Region Board for 16 years, including as Region Exec­u­tive for five years. He served on the SCCA Board of Direc­tors, and was selected as the Chairman of the Board of SCCA Enter­prises, where he continued to help grow and main­tain the subsidiary until his death. Porter­field also orga­nized the corner workers in the early days of the Long Beach Grand Prix. A winner of the 2008 John McGill Award for contri­bu­tions to Club Racing and the Woolf Barnato Award in 2009 for outstanding long-term contri­bu­tion to the SCCA, Porterfield’s SCCA creden­tials are unques­tioned. Porter­field passed away in April 2012, but will continue to influ­ence SCCA racers through his Porter­field Brakes, a company he founded in 1986.

Robert Wood­ward “Bobby” Rahal, has had a long and distin­guished motor­sports career that began in the Sports Car Club of America. As a 22-year-old, Rahal was awarded the President’s Cup following his 1975 Formula B (soon to be renamed Formula Atlantic) National Cham­pi­onship. Using Club Racing as a spring­board, Rahal went on to drive IMSA and in the SCCA Trans-Am Series before becoming a cham­pion open-wheel driver. The 1986 Indi­anapolis 500 winner won CART Cham­pi­onships in 1986, 1987, and 1992, as well as the series’ Rookie of the Year award in 1982. Rahal is the current co-owner of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, where they’ve recently hired 2005 SCCA National Cham­pion Graham Rahal (son of the newest Hall of Famer) to drive in the IndyCar Series.

Carroll Shelby’s impact on the SCCA will last long into the future, even if you ignore the mark he made as a driver that won an SCCA National Cham­pi­onship in 1956 (Formula Libre). Though Shelby competed in eight Formula One races and won the 24 Hours of LeMans behind the wheel, his legacy is, obvi­ously, as the man who prac­ti­cally invented the Amer­ican iron pony car. In 49 SCCA National Cham­pi­onship Runoffs, 35 drivers have left with the gold medal in either a Mustang or a Shelby Cobra. An entire SCCA class, Amer­ican Sedan, features cars that either are a Ford Mustang, or were built to compete on the show­room floor with the iconic sports car. Beyond Club Racing, the GT 350 was also the inau­gural Trans-Am Series manu­fac­turer cham­pion. Shelby passed away in May 2012 at the age of 89.
Barber, Noble, Porter­field, Rahal and Shelby will join eight previous classes in the SCCA Hall of Fame:

  • 2005: Cameron Argetsinger, A. Tracy Bird, John Fitch, Arthur Gervais, Harry Handley, Vern Jaques, Bill Milliken, Sue Roethel, Art Trier and Rob Walker.
  • 2006: John Born­holdt, John Buffum, Mark Donohue, Denise McClug­gage and Grant Reynolds.
  • 2007: Marge Binks, Marc Gerstein, Carl A. Haas, General Curtis E. LeMay, and Theodore F. Robertson.
  • 2008: Roger E. Johnson, Don and Ruth Nixon, Kjell Qvale, Robert Ridges and Fred Schmucker.
  • 2009: Bill Cham­bres, Bill Johnson, Jim Kimberly, Paul Newman and John Timanus
  • 2010: Nick Craw, Briggs Cunningham, R. David Jones, Burdette “Berdie” Martin and Wayne Zitkus
  • 2011: Karen Babb, John Bishop, Jim Fitzgerald, Tracer Racing, Harro Zitza
  • 2012: Charlie Earwood, Jim Hall, Gene Henderson, Dr. Peter Talbot, Bryan Webb

More infor­ma­tion on the Sports Car Club of America, including the SCCA Hall of Fame is avail­able at Regis­tra­tion for the SCCA Conven­tion, which includes the Hall of Fame induc­tion cere­mony, is avail­able at

Follow SCCA on Twitter @SCCAOfficial, and like the Club on Face­book at