Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing is co-owned by three-time IndyCar Champion and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, former Late Show host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan and is based in Hilliard, Ohio and Brownsburg, Indiana.

Founded in 1992 when then two-time Indy car champion Bobby Rahal started his own team with Carl Hogan, Rahal Hogan Racing got off to a celebrated start when Rahal won his third championship in the team’s first season of competition. Television icon David Letterman joined the team as an owner in 1996, with the team officially becoming Rahal Letterman Racing in 2004 – the same year that the team won the Indianapolis 500 from pole. Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan joined the team as a co-owner in 2010, and the team name changed again to reflect the new relationship.

Indy car racing was the genesis of the team but Rahal was able to return to his sports car racing roots in 2009 with the addition of BMW Team RLL, a factory-supported sports car program that first competed in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) and now competes in the International Motor Sports Association (IMSA) WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

To date, the team has compiled 45 victories (26-IndyCar, 19-ALMS/IMSA), 56 poles (30-IndyCar, 26-ALMS/IMSA) and three series championships (1992-IndyCar, 2010 and 2011-ALMS), as well as claiming an Indianapolis 500 victory in 2004 with Buddy Rice.

For 2018 the IndyCar Series driver roster included Graham Rahal, Takuma Sato and Oriol Servia and the IMSA driver roster included John Edwards, Jesse Krohn, Alexander Sims, Connor De Phillippe and endurance drivers Bill Auberlen, Augusto Farfus, Nick Catsburg, Philipp Eng and Chaz Mostert.  The 2019 lineup will be announced at a later date.  For the 2018/2019 season of Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY competition, Katherine Legge and Bryan Sellers will compete for the team.

Drivers who have won races, podiums or poles for the team include:


Bobby Rahal, Bryan Herta, Max Papis, Jimmy Vasser, Michel Jourdain Jr., Kenny Brack, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Vitor Meira, Danica Patrick, Buddy Rice, Scott Sharp, Takuma Sato, James Jakes and Graham Rahal.


Joey Hand, Bill Auberlen, Dirk Mueller, Tommy Milner, Andy Priaulx, Jonathon Summerton, Jorg Mueller, Augusto Farfus, Maxime Martin, John Edwards, Dirk Werner, Jens Klingmann, Bruno Spengler, Lucas Luhr, Alexander Sims, Martin Tomczyk, Kuno Wittmer, Connor De Phillippi, Jesse Krohn and Chaz Mostert.